Writer’s Tip #96: 11 of Them From Bob Mayer

WordDreams...

When you read your story, does it sound off, maybe you can’t quite put your finger on it, but you know you’ve done something wrong? Sometimes–maybe even lots of times–there are simple fixes. These writer’s tips will come at you once a week, giving you plenty of time to go through your story and make the adjustments.

I have a huge bookshelf of self-help books for writing. If I get stuck, I roll my chair around to face my floor-to-ceiling shelves and explore tips from Noah Lukeman, Bill Bryson, Donald Maass, Bob Mayer, Strunk and White, and James Frey on whatever my problem-du-jour is (thanks to my weekend writer conference, now it’s ‘genre’–do I really understand my genre?). These books are a wealth of information and take a long time to digest. I thought I’d take one of my favorites and distill its highlights.

Bob Mayer is the NY Times Best-Selling…

View original post 465 more words

Leave a Reply

